DIY Deep conditioners: which ones to use

Deep conditioning is something I’ve always done even before I was natural. It’s just something I’ve always believed contributes to moisturized hair and moisturized hair is healthy hair. 

In this post I’ll be discussing the different DIY Deep conditioners I use to treat different problem areas of my hair and a couple of my friebd’s hair.  These are the deep conditioners, what they do for me and my friends and what they can hopefully do for you. 

 DRY, CRUNCHY AND FRIZZY HAIR

I personally suffer from this a whole lot and I’m always looking for a quick fix. Ingredients you wanna use are things like honey, egg yolk, milk, and oils. These will definitely make sure your hair is always soft and moisturized

My personal fave conditioner

What you need (for all deep conditioners):

  • An old mixing bowl
  • A fork or whisk
  • A measuring spoon 

Ingredients:

  1. 1 tablespoon of Apple cider vinegar
  2. 1 tablespoon of honey
  3. 1 tablespoon of Extra virgin olive oil
  4. 1 teaspoon of Coconut oil
  5. 1 Egg yolk

Just whisk all the ingredients together until everything is combined and when done apply to your hair shaft and leave it in for an hour (at the least)

This mixture is incredibly moisturizing. The ACV loosens your curls and closes the shaft, the honey acts as a humectant so it moisturizes, the EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil) moisturizes and penetrates the shaft, the coconut oil helps with dandruff and the egg yolk moisturizes. 

THIN LIFELESS HAIR

It’s and absolute nightmare when you have thin and limp hair (I suffer from this too) and no matter what you do it refuses to gain any body. I have just the fix. Caster oil is your saving grace. You won’t see results immediately but after a few weeks you’ll thank me

My fave conditioner

Ingredients: 

  1. Two tablespoons of caster oil
  2. Half a cup of avocado pureé
  3. A tablespoon of EVOO
  4. A quarter cup of plain Greek yoghurt

Massage onto your hair shaft and leave it in for anything north of an hour. The caster oil thickens your hair. The avo restores your hair, adds shine, bounce and softness. The EVOO adds elasticity, and the yoghurt revitalizes your strands

ITCHY SCALP

So you’ve tried washing your hair and nothing is working. Your scalp just won’t stop itching and it’s driving you crazy. Worry not I have just the fix. Usually, the cause of an itchy scalp is a dry scalp and you wanna combat that with an ingredient that has acidity

Ingredients:

  1. Three tablespoons of lemon
  2. Three tablespoons of olive oil

Massage onto your scalp and leave on for about 20 minutes then rinse off with warm water

The olive oil will lift build-up on your scalp and the olive oil will help avoid dry and flaky scalp

Leave a Reply

