First blog request: My hair routine

So last week I got my first blog post request (big smiles!). Part of me was excited but part of me felt bad for not posting for so long. I’m so sorry guys. I’ve been so busy with exams and what not.

Ok so this request was from a young girl. She sent me a dm on instagram but she asked me not to mention her unfortunately so the fact that she’s a girl is all I can say

Anyway. This young girl asked me to post my hair routine. I never ever ever (ever times infinity) thought someone would be interested in my hair routine so that’s fun. I thought I was special until my mom mentioned she probably just wants to know a someone’s routine so hers can be easier and that I shouldn’t get big headed. Thanks mom. (As I sit down and be humble). Now I don’t possibly know why anyone would be interestred in my hair routine but I’ll just shut up and go with it.

So before I share my routine… (yes more talking.. bear with me).. I would just like to let everyone know I’m not a professional hairstylist. I don’t know jack. I mean Jack. So if you feel the need to take everything I say into hard, intense consideration you need to calm down. Oh AND this routine is incredibly long but incredibly moisturizing.

Here goes nothing 🙂

ok I have very dry, course 4c hair with low porosity so my first step would always be to PRE POO my hair. I always always always pre poo, even when I am short on time I do. 

What you will need:

    • Extra virgin olive oil (you can find it at any food store)
    • Coconut oil (also sold at many food stores)

      I just take these two, pour about two tablespoons of each in an old mixing bowl and apply it to my hair. I’ll part little cornrow sections on my hair and apply it with my fingers to both my strands and my scalp and I’ll massage my scalp for about an hour or thirty minutes

      I rinse the oils out my hair then CLARIFY my hair in two steps. First using baking soda and then after, using ACV (Apple cider vinegar). I’ll take about a tablespoon of baking soda and mix it with some water to form a paste and apply it to my scalp (note: IT HAS TO BE ON YOUR SCALP). I’ll leave it in for about 3 minutes and rinse out with very warm water, thoroughly. Then after I mix 1 part ACV with 10 parts water and spray it onto my scalp and if there’s any remainders I’ll spray it onto my hair shaft (feel it first, thank me later). Then I’ll rinse my hair thoroughly and wrap it with an old cotton shirt.

      Now begins the DEEP CONDITION process. In a bowl I’ll mix 

      • A tablespoon of ACV 
      • 1 egg yolk
      • 1 tablespoon of olive oil 
      • 1 teaspoon of coconut oil
      • 1 tablespoon of honey

      You’re welcome to adjust the portions to your hair size but I do have a very small twa so my portions are small.

      I’ll apply it to my hair shaft (NOT MY SCALP) and leave it on for about an hour and a half. I do change what I add to my hair every now and then depending on what nourishment my hair needs and when I do add egg to the mix then I don’t wear a shower cap (because I live in Africa and African heat don’t play girl, that egg will cook.

      After that I will just rinse out the conditioner (with cool water to seal in the moisture).

      When I’m done, I’ll put a cotton shirt on my head until my hair dries completely. I don’t use a towel because the cotton shirt works faster and is less harsh on my hair.

      After that I’ll SPRITZ ALOE VERA JUICE IN MY HAIR. I bought 500 ml 3 months ago and I’m still using it so you don’t need much. I’ll APPLY SHEA BUTTER CREAM and SEAL WITH OLIVE OIL OR COCONUT OIL and then protective style. I have a different protective style with a purpose depending on what I’m looking for, I’ll put up a post about that soon!

      And I’m done!

      Don’t forget to comment below for any further questions and DM me any blog requests on my instagram > @samoisalamo <

      Hopefully you all found this informative and useful 

      Stay irie everyone!

      Bless up

      X.

      Leave a Reply

      